top of page


  • Kaci Foraker

Members Attend American Farm Bureau Convention

The Sedgwick County Farm Bureau Agricultural Association sent a delegation to the American Farm Bureau Convention held in Atlanta, Georgia, on January 7 through January 12.

The convention brought Farm Bureau members, staff and guests together who were from across the United States. Attendees participated in educational workshops, connected with others in food production, learned about cutting-edge ideas, explored new technologies at the trade show and toured local sites.

“Being at AFBF, representing SCFB, I got to exchange ideas and talk about how they advocate for agriculture in their states,” said Mick Rausch, Sedgwick County Farm Bureau President. “I inquired about similar county boards to find out what they are doing and how those efforts might be beneficial for us; after all we are just farmers and ranchers trying to help our members.”

Many workshops featured industry leaders in promotion, sustainability and economic affects. Main speakers included AFBF President Zippy Duvall, Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, and Jim Murphy, Afterburner founder and former F-15 instructor pilot.

Kansas Farm Bureau was represented at the event by board members, staff, Young Farmer and Ranchers committee members and other county representatives.

The event hosted competitions for Young Farmers and Ranchers and presented cumulative awards to state organizations. Competitors from Kansas claimed top ten spots in the Excellence in Agriculture competition, Mike and Ashley Beying from Osage County, and Ag Innovation Challenge, Blake Chance from NEK Supply. Additionally, President Rich Felts accepted the Pinnacle Award, highest honor a state Farm Bureau can be awarded for program and membership achievement, on behalf of Kansas Farm Bureau.

Next year, thousands of Farm Bureau members will convene at the American Farm Bureau Convention in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page